From Casting to Parking to Guest Relations

From Casting to Parking to Guest Relations: A Definitive Timeline.

This is a pretty long post, fair warning.

Today, I’m going to be talking about my journey from Point A to Point GR. For those of you who know me or keep up with my blog, it might seem like it was a super fast transition and comparatively, it definitely was a super fast transition from not being with the Company to being in Guest Relations. But a lot is considered when being offered a role in GR. So let’s start from the very beginning…

Around November 1: I had been eagerly looking for an hourly job posting on the Disney Careers page. The one that kept popping up consistently for months was Parking. So I applied. Why not? I have talked to two people who went into a parking interview and the interviewer placed them in attractions, so I decided I had a shot at that also! Plus, if that plan didn’t unfold, I felt as if I could handle Parking for 6 months until I could try to transfer somewhere else. I breezed through the web-based interview and scheduled my interview for as soon as possible.

By November 6: I had my interview with Cathy a Parking Leader from Magic Kingdom (on a TA in HR) and I went into the interview with my Merchandise and Jungle Cruise resume and she hired me almost on the spot; after asking a few Disney Look and availability questions. The interview was so fast and I couldn’t believe she offered me a job right then and there (almost unheard of, I now know). That same day I received my offer acceptance email and I accepted it right away. I won’t lie and say I wasn’t a teeny, tiny disappointed Attractions never came up in the interview, but I also knew that was a possibility and I just have to say I was more excited to just be back with the company!

Between then and Nov 13: I fit in my Onboarding meeting, which is a security and background check where they take fingerprints, photo for your blue ID, and fill out your paperwork. I also did my drug screening test, done if you are working in a safety critical role such as Attractions, Monorails, Busses, Parking mostly because the guests safety is directly in your control. And I also made my Safety Critical Physical appointment, which is just an overall physical to make sure you can see and hear and are physically fit to perform the role you were offered.

Nov 21: I went to my Traditions class at Disney University. It is the class that every single Disney Cast Member takes. I had them for both college programs and they were each about 4 hours. The one for part time was 8 hours (I have no idea why, because they fit the exact same information and tour into both the 4- and 8-hour). I received my Blue ID and name tag that day.

Somewhere between Nov 21 and Nov 26: I had my Welcome to Operations and Welcome to Park Operations class. They do sound the exact same, but each class was about 4 hours long and it was facilitated by the wonderful Jennifer. Just a quick overview, Welcome to Ops is a class about the 4 keys (in-depth), keeping yourself safe with your repetitive motion movements, and in case of general emergencies in the work place. Welcome to Park Ops is more in-depth customized by cast members working in various areas such as: transportation, parking, attractions, custodial, vacation planning, quick service, etc. So you learn about the everyday tasks involved with your specific role but the class is usually a group of about 20 or so various roles, my class was 4 people 2 in parking and 2 in quick service food and beverage.

My facilitator, Jennifer, introduced herself that she was finishing her year facilitating at Disney University but works Guest Relations in Animal Kingdom and she is also a Legacy Award winner. This is a special award to those who solely embody the traditions Walt Disney wanted passed on in his company. I pulled her aside during one of our breaks and asked if I could set up a meet and greet with her to pick her brain about getting into Guest Relations sometime in the future. She gave me her email and told me to email her my questions and although the meet and greet never came about, it was because we were both so opposite in schedule and she took care of all of my questions and more through our emails.

November 26 (a day off): I had been checking the internal job postings and saw a Guest Relations TA posted. Knowing nothing about the GR interview process, I asked Rodolfo to help me spruce up my resume, and I applied. Almost all GR Hosts or Hostesses are given a “trial run” through a TA or Temporary Assignment for a specific period of time to see if you can keep up with the every day tasks of GR with the possibility of extending and/or going full time. However, the TA becomes your role. You can pick up at your previous location, but you are solely scheduled shifts in your TA role.

December 1: I received an email asking me to schedule my interview for GR, I could choose between a phone interview or in-person interview. I felt as if an in-person interview is much better for someone living in the area because they can REALLY gage your personality and Disney Look. But the only two days available for the interview was when I was flying home to be with my family for the holidays. I called my mom who changed my flight for December 11 6pm and I schedule my interview for that same day at 11am. I should also note, I couldn’t believe my eyes seeing the email for me to schedule an interview. I felt my resume was strong but after years of job rejections, I couldn’t believe this one was pushing me through to an interview.

December 1-December 4: intensive Parking Training and Assemement to get signed off to be on my own for Parking.

Between December 1 and December 10: I reached out to everyone possible that I could think of for any preparation tips and interview tips. I had a pretty good idea what I was up against for my interview and I am thankful for those people who helped me get there!  I was confident, because I felt prepared. All those people I have networked within guest relations and management really helped me out in this department.

December 11: I was both incredibly excited for this day and incredibly nervous. I had my interview in the morning and I was flying home to be with my family for a week, later that night. But I took this day one step at a time. I woke up pretty early and just ran through some questions in my head. I got dressed in my red business suit (this was one of my business suits from my pageant days which I was SUPER thankful I had and it was tailored and fit beautifully). And Rodolfo gave me some last minute tips and wished me luck and I was on my way to kick booty at my interview. I talked to my mom the entire drive over to Casting and she calmed me down and helped me remember the goal. I went in about 10 minutes early and opened those beautiful Alice In Wonderland Doors. I checked-in and watched Mary Poppins for about 10 minutes while also taking in my surroundings. I love Casting. I love the electrical, static-y magic in the air of eager people looking to become Cast Members! I was called back with Ryan and we knocked our interview out of the parks!

After the interview I called my mom again and gave her a general overview and at that point I told her I felt confident but I was nervous so maybe my excitement didn’t translate in my interview, but it was out of my hands at that point (which she reminded me) and told me to put it in the back of my mind and just focus on the flight in front of me…she knew I hadn’t packed yet and so I went home to pack and tried not to focus too much on the negative of my interview. I guess I can’t say negative but I definitely doubted myself 50% of the time I looked back on my interview. I have this higher, goddess-like admiration for the Cast Members in GR because they are the elite, and I just didn’t know if my 30-minute interview showcased me in that light.

For the next week, I spent relaxing, quality time at home with my family and celebrated Christmas. It was lovely to get away from work and stress in Florida. For some reason, I could have swore Nathaniel mentioned we would hear within the week and I kept my phone ringer on the highest setting for about 2 weeks. I kept thinking “today’s the day” while I was home….(it wasn’t) and I was scared I had missed the call. At that point, I also didn’t have my voicemail set up and even if I missed the call, I would have no way to contact that person who called. So on my way to the airport, I set up my voicemail. I was so scared I would step on that plane, turn off my phone, and miss the phone call that could determine my fate. Well I didn’t need to worry, because I didn’t hear anything until December 23.

December 23: I received a phone call from a “407” number and I KNEW this was it. I was in the shower when the phone call went through and I had a new voicemail (bless Voicemail systems)! I listened to the voicemail and Nathaniel asked if I could call him back so we could talk about the feedback on my interview. I realized this could go either way and I called back (after dialing the wrong number the first time) and I prepared myself for the bad, just in case. But I didn’t need to! Not only was I accepted to the Bench but I was already offered a TA in Magic Kingdom (AHHHHHHHH WHAT?!)

Today: Now I am currently waiting for my email with my training details! I know I start my TA January 21, but I am not positive if my training will come before that date or during that day. Until then, I still work for Seaworld and MK Parking. And we will just have to be ever so patient until I find out my details. Luckily, the worst wait is over (and I cannot even complain because my wait was nothing compared to some people who are still on the bench). I cannot wait for the next chapter of my Disney Career and cannot believe that my dreams really are coming true! After looking back on my interview for parking, I now realize this is the way it was supposed to be. I wasn’t supposed to get accepted into attractions or merchandise this time around, and I really DO love parking. It’s a great job! But I had the motivation to aspire to be a Guest Relations cast member ever since I went into my Welcome to Ops class. And that all started with Parking. I am truly ever so grateful for my journey the last 2 months has brought me with the Company. And of course, pictures will be posted the moment I get my Plaid!

Until next time! TTFN.

Ta Ta for Now!

 

Leave a comment